Academic Writing

Tell Me Something I Can’t Forget

In class this week, we were given ten minutes to wite a piece that was inspired by a reading from Lia Purpura’s selection of essays On Looking

Purpura, L. (2006). Autopsy report. In, On looking: Essays, pp. 1–8. Louisville, KY: Sarabande Books.

Autopsy Report was, for most of us, rather emotional. The free-writing which came out of it even more so…

 

Tell Me Something I Can’t Forget

I don’t want to write about this, but I can’t help myself. It’s on my mind. Has been for years. The conversation I don’t want to have. We left my parents back in the U.K. They are both in their 80s now. One day I’ll get that phone call. Probably from my brother or sister. They’ll tell me something that can’t be untold. Something I can’t forget. Mum or dad won’t be there any more. They won’t be there any more. The man who taught my brother & I how to pass a rugby ball. How to bowl a cricket ball. How to wire a plug. How to know right from wrong. Or the woman who picked us up and doctored bleeding knees. Dusted us off. Hugged and kissed us. Both who sacrificed so much, so that we could live lives they couldn’t. Somebody will tell me something I can never forget, and I don’t ever want to hear it. I don’t ever want to hear it. But I’ve been told things I can’t forget before. Family is the most important thing you’ll ever have. If I can’t forget that now, why did I ever leave? I hope I can get back there one day, before that phone call. Before the sentence that I don’t want to hear.

Free-Writing - Tell me Something I Can't Forget

One thought on “Tell Me Something I Can’t Forget

  1. Pingback: Scholarly Writing… So Where Am I So Far? | Talk Curriculum

Leave a Reply

